Interview: KASA

Kasa first played in Weymouth a couple of years ago. Each time they’ve been back I’ve consistently been left breathless from the energy and passion they pour into every set. When I heard they’d be coming back I thought I’d interview them….

….when I heard they’re to be touring with We Came Out Like Tigers, a band I had never seen, but was super excited about, I thought it’d be cool to get the 2 bands interviewing each other to get an insight into the relationship of 2 bands sharing a tour. Keeps shit fresh!

So here it is. Part one of this 2- part interview. We Came Out Like Tigers’ questions to Kasa.

Here’s what they had to say…

Why are you in a band? Playing heavy music in a DIY scene isn’t financially rewarding so why continue?

Porter (vocals) – why am I in a band? To start with, it’s fun. Music’s the one thing that I feel truly passionate about, so playing in this band makes me feel so lucky.

I don’t really give a shit about making any money, as long as I can continue to play and release music then that’s all I really care about.

Luke (bass) –  being in a band is the only thing that has really made sense to me, of all the other paths I have attempted to take with my life playing music has come so naturally in whatever form it has taken. I also love travelling, so touring is a great way for me to see the country/world and all with my best friends in tow.

Regarding the DIY aspect of the question… I have an issue with DIY, everyone seems to have a different point of view on it. Whether it’s totally disconnected and on your own, or working with other affiliates. I just think that you should do what feels right and works best for you. I have met bands that are totally on their own and want nothing to do with anything or anyone. Those bands don’t last very long on the greater scale of things. We are still a young band so doing everything ourselves has made sense to us so far, but we have used our friends to help us along the way and will continue to work with anyone that wants to help us out in the future. It can work out to be financially rewarding in the long term though, you just need to think about how you go around doing everything. Be smart with what you’re doing. Personally, as long as I’m not losing a shit-ton of money then I’m happy.

I could talk forever about this, but I won’t. Instead I urge people to read this article: http://www.metalsucks.net/2010/07/19/trap-thems-ryan-mckenney-responds-to-sacha-dunables-metalsucks-column/

How do you feel about playing heavy music? Do your mothers approve?

Porter – I love it. I have always been into heavy music. My mum disapproves only when I’m on tour as I always end up injuring myself one way or another.

Luke – I love playing heavy music, it’s a great release. I have a pretty wide taste in music, and heavy music isn’t really at the top of the list…but it’s the best to play live. My mother doesn’t really approve at all. But she’s happy I’m out doing something productive and positive I guess.

What’s the hardest/ best thing about being in a band?

Porter – the best thing has to be meeting new people and playing the music I love, playing new towns every night and hanging around with my best friends the whole time.

The worst thing is easily the drives, the long, long drives…

Luke – Time for a generic answer, but the travelling and shows. It really is the best part about being in a band.

I will also have to agree with porter, the long drives tend to get a bit tedious sometimes. Especially when the rest of the band is hung-over and asleep and I’m left for a solitary 6 hour shift at the wheel…no hard feelings though of course, ha. That and the lack of showers, I hate that. Porter likes to smell bad though, so he doesn’t mind.

Your best tip for surviving on the road.

Porter – Imodium and High Commissioner.

Luke – A blow up pillow and tooth paste. You only need the bare essentials, pack light. I usually wear the same shirt every night when I play, so I don’t need to bring a shit load of clothes with me. A few clean shirts and that’s it.

What are you listening to right now?

Porter – I’m listening to Quiet Steps quite a lot at the moment. Can’t get this band out of my head. That and the new Alpinists, it’s brutal. Also the new United Nations.

Luke – Its December so I’m listening to a substantial amount of Christmas music, the Sufjan Stevens Christmas records are brilliant. The new Chariot record is amazing as-well. that’s been pretty much on repeat since I got it.

This entry was posted in Features, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Interview: KASA

  1. Pingback: KASA: Tangled Talk Records | freshkillszine

Leave a comment